Does this car match my outfit?

Let’s be honest folks: men and women from around the world view cars totally differently.  Men want specs.  17 inch alloy rims, 240 horse power or a V8 engine (hey isn’t V8 a drink?).  Woman focus on what’s important like what colour to get, location of the cup holder and if the mirror on the visor lights up. OK, so I was in the market to buy a new car.  Hurray for me. With my new job as a “traveling salesman” I needed wheels… fast and since I’m the type of gal who doesn’t really care about the details I left the research to my husband.

My simple wish list:

  1. Small & cute – space is limited here in Europe and parallel parking is the norm.
  2. Needs to be in a fun colour.  No black, silver or white.
  3. Need to plug in my iPod/iPhone.  Always gotta have my music 🙂
  4. A/C Plau-ease!

Husband’s recommendations:

Renault Twingo

Citroen C1

Fiat 500

Smart Car

VW Up

Recently, we went to a car show to have a close up look.  As expected it was like Christmas morning for my husband – surrounded by beautiful shiny cars… with tarty (sorry but gotta say it) 20 year old ladies dressed in mini skirts standing like Barbies next to them.  Anyway while my husband spoke about specs with the salesmen I traded make up tips with the girls <kidding>. 

We narrowed it down to two choices:

So I bet you are dying to find out which car I chose right?

Ahh hem…. drum roll please…..

2003 Renault Scenic

Complete with state of the art stereo!

Ewwrrrt… yes you just heard the record player scratch.

You see little ‘ol me didn’t take into consideration that any brand new vehicle driven into “certain” countries will most likely be stolen within your first gas stop.  For Austrian tax purposes a company car that is older than 7 years is much cheaper to own as well (tax wise… maintenance is another story I’m sure).  Since I will be driving into Slovenia, Slovakia, Hungary, and Czech Republic I must arrive in semi-style.  Not in any new flashy Fuchsia Fiat 500… oh no.  I must blend in – rust is a good thing and a car that has parts that are no longer in demand is a bonus.

Since this is a company car I must take what I am given and I shall.  I will proudly drive my new car and hold on tight to my road side assistance information.  My cute Euro car will arrive in time.  One day.

In the meantime please don’t tell my mom back in Canada about the car stealing part.  Thanks 🙂

Credits:  1  2  3  4  5

About marthamel

I'm a fun loving Canadian that now calls Vienna, Austria home. After a lot of moving around I have experienced some amazing adventures, disaapointing pitfalls and unexpected surprises. Now that I am settled in Europe, I enjoy continuing to enrich my life with culture, sports, and of course eating fantastic food all in the company of great friends & family. Take a look at my blog! www.canadianlivingineurope.wordpess.com View all posts by marthamel

Leave a Reply

